For All This and So Much More, I Give Thanks…

I had a blog post written and all ready to do today, and I decided that post can wait a while because I’ve been following a small phenomenon on Facebook this month. I noticed it last year during November, too. Every day of the month, my friends are posting something different every day they are thankful for, rather than just mentioning those things only on Thanksgiving.
I didn’t do that last year and I’m not doing it this year. Don’t get me wrong—it’s not because I’m not thankful. Heaven knows, I am incredibly grateful, thankful, and consider myself blessed for a myriad of reasons. If you follow me on my professional FB page, you know that I’ve been having some difficulty with my sight. Fortunately, it’s only affected one eye. For that I am thankful, because the thought of a life with very restricted sight or without any sight at my age is terrifying.
I’m thankful for my family, immediate, extended, and those have chosen to count me as family—such as very close friends. Yes, these people can be exasperating, frustrating, and even annoying at time, but I can also be all of those things. It doesn’t mean I am not thankful for their presence in my life and count myself as blessed. The people in my life who are my family are also my greatest source of strength and encouragement.
I am thankful for a job I held a few years ago where I was honored to work with so many talented, gifted people. I had a nick-name there I am still proud of, that of Benign and Benevolent Dictator and it was my loyal “minions” who gave that name to me. I am so proud of those people and have been blessed to know them, to watch them leave their academic careers behind and go on to much greater things than at times I think they knew they were capable of. I always knew each and every one of them was more than capable, and they were all destined for greatness. My minions, you have truly blessed my life, and so many of you continue to be blessings to me today.
I am thankful that I am involved in a hobby where there is so much support and genuine friendship. Too often, those involved in this hobby/sport of dog showing forget that it is just a dog show and there will be another one next weekend. Fortunately, for the most part, the breed that I am committed to has people who truly want to be the people that our dogs believe we are. As an added bonus, on any given weekend, I get to spend time with my dogs, my friends, and see beautiful collies from all over the country. And, just outside my back door are some of those beautiful animals. For this, I am very thankful.
I’m also thankful for all the support I receive from “friends” I have never met for my writing career and endeavors. I reached a goal I have long dreamed of, and that was becoming a published author. A few months ago, I signed a contract for a second romance novel with my publisher. Not only am I a published author, this book makes me a multi-published author. I get to hide from the world in a place I’ve created, populated with people who only exist in my head, and then share them with the world. I’m thankful my husband is understanding and supportive of me when I vanish for days on end into my office, creating the next story. He truly is one of the best. I’m thankful for my Muse, even if She can be a total bitch at times (but that is a whole other blog post—for another time).
I’m thankful that I can sit at my desk and browse the Internet. The days of having to go to a library for research are over. Not that I still don’t like to go to a library, because there is something relaxing and calming about wandering in the stacks of a library, but when I need to verify a fact, I usually need to find that information immediately. Browsing the Internet also allows me to go to places that I know I can never afford to go and see things I would never see otherwise. There are so many beautiful places and things I’ve “seen” through an Internet connection.
I’m thankful for the roof over my head, that I have enough to feed my family, and that there is heat in the winter, and air conditioning in the summer. So many people in this country right now are struggling to keep their homes, worry about whether or not they will have enough to feed their loved ones. Part of being thankful for what I have must be the willingness to share what I can, when I can.
Part of the reason I don’t participate in the month-long celebration is I believe we need to be thankful every day for the people who bless our lives with their presence, we need to give thanks for the blessings in our lives, and we need to share our bounty with gratitude and a humble heart.
May you all have a blessed, bountiful Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

