Completely Random Thoughts

It’s pretty sad when I know I need to get a blog post up and I’m so fresh out of ideas that I asked for suggestions on my personal Facebook page. (Does anyone see my head hitting my desk?)
Someone suggested writing about pie. I like pie. Cherry is my favorite. I make one mean cherry pie, too. Just ask my family.
Someone else suggested I write about my teaching philosophy. I’m not sure I have one anymore. I admit, quite readily, that I am burnt at both ends. Halfway through this semester, I had to step away from a job/profession that I love because of health issues. I feel as if I have failed the students who relied on me. I’m not sure if I want to teach again in a formal, classroom setting.
Someone else suggested that I leave the blog post open ended, but I don’t know how to do that.
Maybe, I’ll just babble about whatever comes into my head for the next twenty to thirty minutes—kinda like a stream of consciousness writing thingy. (How’s that for technical writing terms from an English major?)
It’s snowing here in Indiana tonight. I also read that it snowed for the first time in Cairo, Egypt in 112 years. Jerusalem is buried under over a foot of snow. While I know that the term was changed to “climate change” when the facts just wouldn’t line up with the scare tactics of “global warming”, I want to send a tweet to Al Gore and ask him how that global warming thing was supposed to work. Weren’t we supposed to be broiling by now?
There was another school shooting today. Needless to say, some of my liberal friends immediately jumped on the band wagon of wanting more gun control. Really? How’s that gun control thing working out for Chicago? One of them even said that the second amendment should be changed. Sure. While we’re at it, let’s just overturn the whole Bill of Rights. Then I won’t have to worry about posting any more blogs, because there won’t be freedom of speech, either.
Did you hear about the billboard that some atheist society purchased in Times Square, wanting to take “Christ” out of Christmas? While I know that the origins of the celebration of the winter solstice predate Christianity, and I am often very, very amused by fundamentalists of any flavor, and even more amused at how Christianity stole at least 90% of the traditions of the faith from the pre-existing pagan beliefs, I wanted to ask that atheist society if that was the best thing they could spend their money on. Really? You couldn’t find a charity to donate the money to, so that you actually practiced what you were preaching, that the holiday season is about giving, and love, and light, and good will to others.
I am also delaying writing the last chapter to the new WIP because my inner child is throwing a tantrum and doesn’t want to say “goodbye” to her newest, bestest friends. I was asked the other day by someone of all the books I’ve written, which one was my favorite. That person then said that was probably like asking me to pick a favorite child. How very true. Writing is rather like having a kid, without the hospital bill, most of the time. But, even though I LOVE the characters in the WIP, I’ll always be partial to The Devil’s Own Desperado because it was the first one I published. Rather like that first love you just don’t get completely over. My favorite, though, would have to be the one on my editor’s desk right now, going through the second round of edits. Smolder on a Slow Burn has been with me for a long, long time. It started out as a contemporary years (and I do mean years) ago. When the Muse dropped the idea for NaNoWriMo on my head last November, I knew EXACTLY who the main characters were. I pulled A.J. and Alli from that contemporary and put them into a western historical. I have been in love with Major A.J. Adams, Jr. and Allison Webster for more than twenty years. The fact I could take him out of a Marine Corps uniform and slide that CSA cavalry officer’s frock coat onto him worked out perfectly.
I’m totally geeking out over the movie Man of Steel. Yes, I know, I’m a little late to the party here, but one of the reasons I didn’t want to see it originally was I just had a really hard time seeing some Brit as an American icon. Another reason was Christopher Reeve would always be my Superman. (We just won’t mention the last two of the four that he did in the role because not even Chris Reeve in that adorable spandex suit could save those things.) The reboot of the Superman franchise about five years ago with Brandon Routh as the Man of Steel in Superman Returns was a real disappointment. Please note, I said Christopher Reeve would always be my Superman. Does anyone have any idea how hard it is to eat words put onto a computer monitor? At least if I had printed that statement on paper, I could choke it down with some salt and water. HOLY CROW ON CRACKERS, BATMAN! What Zach Snyder did in the reboot of Superman with Man of Steel still has me reeling (and that’s not even mentioning “that Brit” as the most iconic of American icons).  
And, I’m still trying to figure out who to cheer for in the annual Army/Navy football game. I think what I will do, as we’ll probably be snowed in tomorrow (or today, as it is after midnight, now) is have my own movie marathon. Now the decision is what marathon? Star Wars, the Harry Potter movies, Supes, or maybe—some Pirates. I hate making decisions.

Leave a Reply

